If you have been charged with an underage DUI in Boise, speak to the experts at Attorneys of Idaho. To learn more about fighting your charge, schedule a free initial consultation with our team.
In Idaho, drivers who are under the age of 21 years (the legal drinking age) are prohibited from driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more. In this state, an underage DUI is considered a misdemeanor and the penalties differ from a standard DUI. In instances where an underage driver has a BAC of .08% or more, however, they may face standard DUI penalties.
Here at Attorneys of Idaho, we are on your side. We are experts in driving-related crimes, including driving under the influence. Our perfect 5-star rating is a testament to our commitment to helping our clients in their time of need and getting the best possible outcome.
If you are a minor charged with a DUI, schedule a free consultation today to learn more about your underage DUI case in Boise, Idaho.
What Are Idaho’s Underage DUI Penalties?
In Idaho, the penalties for an underage DUI conviction depend on the number of prior violations the offender has. The penalties for a first offense generally involve a fine of up to $1,000 and a one-year license suspension. The offender must also complete a substance abuse evaluation (as is the case for all subsequent offenses).
For a second offense, the offender may face between 5 and 30 days in jail, fines of up to $2,000, and a two-year license suspension. Following the lifting of the suspension, the offender is required to have an ignition interlock device for one year.
For a third offense, the penalties once again increase. These include between 10 days and 6 months in jail, fines of up to $2,000, a license suspension, and the requirement to have an ignition interlock device for one year.
How to Fight a DUI?
During your free initial consultation, we will analyze your case and determine the best strategy to fight your charges. There are a number of different arguments that can be made, including that you did not violate DUI law and arguments of leniency.
During an arrest, there are many different steps that an officer must make. These include the stop, the initial interrogation, performing field sobriety tests, reading of the person’s rights, performing a breathalyzer test, and more. This is an extensive list that must be done correctly in order to prove DUI, which we can use to argue innocence or leniency.
In the case of arguments of leniency, there are a number of points that can be raised. These include the person’s:
- Past record
- Good driving behavior
- Low BAC
- No accident
- Behavior between arrest and court date
- Seeking treatment ahead of time
Our team looks at your specific case to determine the most appropriate course of action to take.
Read Our Reviews
“Thank you so much Ryan Black for providing my daughter with excellent representation. Thank you for getting her the acquittal she deserved. You are doing great work. Keep on keeping on” Dana, Boise
“I had hired Belen Meyers and she was amazing and kept great contact with me. She helped me with all the questions I had and was the best guide for what I needed!! Amazing service” Thit N., Boise
“Mr. Bond is an obvious choice when it comes to representation. Not only was he extremely knowledgeable but professional and courteous as well. He is able to answer all your questions and put forth whatever effort is necessary to win your case. I’m extremely grateful for his help and would recommend him to anyone.” Zach A., Boise
“Very professional and excellent at what they do. If I ever need anything in the future they’ll be my first call.” Brad, Meridian
Choose Boise’s Best Underage DUI Attorneys
To learn more about your underage DUI case, schedule a free consultation with a member of our team.